Make Cardio Fun

I have hated running for as long as I can remember. I have never been an active child and the only time I ran wholeheartedly was when I was either running for the bus, the train or that period of time when I was busy running after boy bands (long story…will tell you about it another time). I have pretty much tried every kind of cardio workout available; Crossfit, Tabata, Swimming, Treadmill, HIIT. Well, I suppose my favorite would be HIIT and Tabata. Probably because they’re pretty similar. But doing Crossfit makes me feel stronger.

Well, anyways, yesterday I have discovered a fun way of making treadmill cardio fun, and it only takes 20mins! Here’s how you do it:

Step 1: Prepare a playlist of about 5 – 6 of your favorite songs, the ones that you would dance or sing along to. Make sure that they are a good mix of fast and mid tempo songs and set it to ‘Shuffle’. Below is an example of the songs that I have in my playlist:

  • Always Be My Baby – Mariah Carey
  • Blow (One Last Kiss) – Pink
  • Treasure – Bruno Mars
  • Dancing Queen – ABBA
  • Heartbreaker – Mariah Carey
  • So What – Pink

Step 2: Get onto the treadmill and have the incline at 9 – 12% and start off with a speed of 3. (If you have not done your warm up, Walk at this speed for one min before playing the playlist.) Play your playlist starting with the a mid tempo and walk along to the song (Always Be My Baby is about 3 or 3.5). Make sure when you walk, enjoy the song, bounce along to the beat and sing along if you want.

Step 3: Now this is when it gets a little tricky. As you go through your playlist, adjust the speed up or down according to the song. Keep an eye on the timer and when you are done with your first 10 mins (about 3 songs), hit ‘Pause’ and take a breather for 30 seconds if you need. If not, then just keep going.

1939501_10152107337196704_2142331747_n

This is an example of what HIIT is like, where you go through cycles of high and moderate intensity plus low intensity recovery periods. Try it for 20 mins, repeat the playlist and make it a 40min workout or even add more songs with different tempo. Whatever you like. Bottom line is to make it enjoyable. It will definitely break you into a good sweat.

Keep going, keep pushing!

2 thoughts on “Make Cardio Fun

Leave a Reply

