Taking the first step to fitness…

Now, I am in no way the healthiest person in the world, nor am I the most active or the fittest. But I know that I am in a better shape than I ever was when I was 10 years younger. I hit the gym 4 – 5 times a week, I carry weights and do cardio (as much as I hate it) and I swim. I was never this active, not even when I was in school. And believe it or not, I actually enjoy all these activities.

So how did you get started?

Well, my weight has always been fluctuating ever since I turned 23 and when I hit the 25 mark, I noticed that it was much easier for me to put the extra weight on rather than to shed it off. I used to always tell myself that it doesn’t matter as long as I’m happy, which was true. I wasn’t delusional or anything. Being a chubby baby, I have gotten comfortable with the ‘extra padding’ around my midsection and my cheeks. It wasn’t until I was working as a performer at Sentosa that I realize just how unfit I was. The job was physically demanding, we have to run and jump around a lot while lip-syncing to the songs on playback. And after every show, I would be panting and my legs would ache terribly (but I LOVE performing – reason why I didn’t quit). All these things were alright at the beginning, I took it as the sacrifices I’m making for a job that I love. It wasn’t until my weight tipped over 60kg (which had NEVER happened before) and I find it harder and harder to keep up with my colleagues during the shows. So I’ve decided that I have to do something about it. I have to start losing some weight.

I started jogging at work, before showtime. I was never a very good runner, I never like running either. I once told a boy that I was dating that “if humans were made to run, we would have hooves instead of feet”. Yup, that’s how much I hated running. Regardless, I did what I had to do. I try to run at least 30mins but with the lack of motivation and determination, a ‘run’ ended up becoming a ‘walk’ and 30mins became 20mins and then became…..well, you get the idea. On my 29th birthday, I was gifted a gym membership (one of the most extravagant gift I’ve ever received) and that changed my life. I started doing research on how the machines worked and how they would work for me, I Googled workout regimes, diet tips and made my own workout schedule. Most of the things that I did was more of trial and error. I also joined an online fitness group to keep me motivated (SparkPeople) and that helped a lot.

How do you stay motivated?

One of the advice that I really love Accountability – tell as many people as you can on your new fitness journey. Post pictures of yourself working out, progresses that you made and anything related to your new fitness journey. Not only will it help to keep track of what you’re doing, it would also keep you accountable. It will be made as a reminder to you as to why you started on this journey in the first place.

Another way to fitness on track it to Google for Fitness Challenges. I found a few on Instagram. Fitness Challenges are similar to the Photo-a-day Challenge. Each day, you have to post a photo on Instagram something related to fitness (in accordance to the list given). It could be your healthy breakfast on the first day of the month or a picture/video of you doing push-ups / sit-ups on the following week. Eventually, this becomes a habit (habits are developed between 21 – 28 days) and it’ll be as easy as breathing or shopping.

Of course there are days where I don’t feel like going to the gym, or even getting out of bed. Some people would say that “you should not give in to it and should suck it up“. But I believe that everyone deserves a break sometimes. That’s why you need rest days in your workout schedule. When things gets tough like this, I let myself take a breather. I would skip the gym and do something to pamper myself like maybe going for a manicure or a foot massage. Or even just stay home and do a marathon of sappy romantic movies. But this is also a very risky thing to do because of you were to get comfortable with it, then you would get lazy. So being discipline is very, VERY important. It’s alright to fall off the wagon once in awhile, especially when you first started out, just as long as you get back on it immediately.

If you want to stop starting over, then stop quitting.

Now after almost 3 years of this lifestyle, I am happy to see some of my friends following suit. I advice them of things that I know and when the asked me about something that I don’t, I research on it. I am still very new in this and I’m looking forward to learning more. But if there’s anything that you would like to ask me, leave a comment and I will do my best to answer.

Until then, take care!

Leave a Reply

