Moisturizer – How do I choose?

It’s easy to get confused and lost when it comes to choosing the right product for yourself. And it doesn’t help when there’s just too many in the market right now. The leading brands would use all kinds of gimmicks in their commercials to promote their products. So how do you choose?

Well, these are the steps that I take when choosing a moisturizer for myself. Firstly, it HAS TO BE Cruelty-Free or Vegan, and keeping that in mind, I make a list of all available CF/Vegan brands in Singapore (and it’s actually a pretty short list so it’s not that difficult to remember) and also my budget. Considering that I already know my skin type (combination), its much easier to find what is right for my skin.

I always tend to go for something that is water-based rather than oil-based, only because I don’t like it when the product is too greasy (my skin is not that dry, anyways). I also do my research whenever I come across a new product. I look for reviews and check on the brand’s background (AGAIN, the product has to be either cruelty-free or vegan).

For several years now, I have been using Himalaya. It’s easy to find (MUSTAFA CENTRE! – They also have a flagship at Harbourfront and certain products available in Watsons and Guardian Pharmacy) and also easy on the wallet. With key ingredients like Aloe Vera and Almond Oil, it has a non-greasy formula that helps to be absorbed into the skin faster.

I also have a lovely little bottle of miracle which I use before applying my makeup and also as part of my nightly regime. It’s homemade by my dear cousin and it’s key ingredients are Argan oil and Rose oil. It not only helps to keep my skin hydrate during the night, it also helps to regenerate, rejuvenate and nourish.

So there you go, it’s really not that complicated to choose the right product for you. But of course, (Disclaimer alert!) these are just my own personal ways for choosing a product. If you have any kind of medical conditions, please do check with your general practitioner.

Until then, stay hydrated ladies!

Leave a Reply

