Is it wrong to follow trends?

I was just reading an article the other day about current makeup trends. With so many of them around right now, its hard to keep up. But are these trends really new? Or are they old trends that’s making a comeback? These makeup artists gave their opinions on it in the article and so here’s mine.

Using too much makeup.
I admit, I tend to do this sometimes, or at least I feel like I’m wearing too much. I have my primer on, my foundation, powder, eyeshadows, eyeliner, mascara, blushers, highlighters, lipstick, lipgloss. It’s crazy how much makeup one can apply on one’s face. I have never been accused of over-doing it though (and trust me, my husband would say so if I was wearing too much). But there are some ladies out there who wears wayyy too much makeup, it’s like they’re going on stage every single night. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m all for looking however you want to look like but wearing that much makeup, it can’t possibly be healthy for your skin.

OD’ing on brow pencil
Now this is one trend that I could never understand. And it’s not only now, even back when I was in high school, I see girls doing their eyebrows wrongly, but back then, it was all about super thin eyebrows with really high arch. Now, its thick brows that’s so dark that it looks like you just cut out strips of black paper and stuck it on your face.

Using way too much foundation
The most common mistake that people make. I mentioned this on my post about foundations. Makeup is about bringing out what’s already there, not covering it all up with mounts of foundation. If you have blemishes, then use a concealer, not paint your whole face with foundation.

Matching your foundation to the wrong part of your face
Always test new foundation colors on your jawline. Not anywhere else. If you match it wrong, that’s when your face and your neck are two different shades.

Trying to look exactly like the illustration in a makeup chart
Trying to look like the illustration on a face chart is like trying to look like a fashion model sketch. It’s fine if you’re going for the same kind of eyeshadow colors. But there are some that goes as far as mimicking the high definition eyebrows and harsh contouring.

Using makeup charts at all
I actually love working with face charts. But I have different reasons for working on them. I use them when I’m testing out new color combinations or just want to be creative but I do not want to go through the hassle of washing the makeup off my face. I think its a good practice piece but I also agree that not everyone looks like a face chart. That’s why I practice on different kinds of face charts that has different face shapes and features.

Making a mess of mascara
Personally I have never come across this trend before. Is this even a trend? I don’t know.

Wearing boring lipstick
I would have to disagree on this. I think the trend now is to not wear boring colored lipstick. With brands like Lime Crime, Melt Cosmetics, Ka’oir and LA Splash releasing all kinds of shades, you can see ladies pouting with anything but boring shades on Instagram.

Taking makeup trends too seriously
And last but not least, this one. This is the one that is my biggest pet peeve of all. Taking trends too seriously. Clown Contouring, Strobing, Overlined lips. You see one, you’ve seen them all. With everyone following the same trend, the same method, little has been left to creativity and you can see everyone basically looking the same because they have the same makeup flow. It’s like everyone is using the same template. It’s boring.

So, that’s what I think about all these makeup trends. I think it’s not wrong to know of them or to try them out. But to follow them to a Tee is a little too much. Don’t do it just for the sake of doing it, make sure the trend is suitable for your face. What do you think? Would love to hear your opinions. Leave a comment!

Until then, take care!

2 thoughts on “Is it wrong to follow trends?

Leave a Reply

