Do I motivate you?

Hey Lovelies!

I know it has been a long time since I posted anything in this category. Being pregnant has taken all the energy out of me and I have been focusing on other stuffs. Anyways, I hope you enjoy this long awaited post.

Ever since I started on my fitness journey, people have been asking me, “How do you do it? How do you keep yourself motivated?

Well, it’s not easy. There were days when I would plan to go to the gym only to back out at the last minute with the silliest (and lamest) of excuse like:

  • it’s raining
  • there’s no one to look after the cats
  • mum is not feeling well
  • there’s a good show on tv
  • I have a headache (but I actually don’t)

It felt good to indulge in my laziness sometimes, but then guilt starts sinking in. I paid to join the gym. I made this promise to myself. It’s beneficial for me. So why am I dodging it?

Lack of motivation.

So how do I motivate myself? There’s this one motivational quote that I came across, it has become my favorite.

People often say that motivation doesn’t last. Well, neither does bathing – that’s why we recommend it daily. – Zig Ziglar

Daily. That is the keyword. By surrounding myself with like-minded people, I’m bombarded left and right with fitness pictures, workout videos, fitness statuses, I see their progresses on Facebook, on Instagram, on their blogs. and I’m not just talking about the professionals. I’m talking about regular people, housewives, firemen, working fathers, mothers with young kids, interns, students, etc. These are the people who motivate me. I watch them fail and cheered when they succeed. They share with me their stories, tips and advices. Not just about working out but also about diet, eating the right kind of food, about juggling work, family and gym and many more. These are the things that kept me going for the past 3 years.

Even now with a 2 pound baby growing in my belly, I am still going to the gym. I still have my lazy days but I always make sure that I work harder the next day. I owe it to myself. I know its not too late. And it’s not too late for you too. No matter how much you weigh, no matter how busy you are, no matter what your lifestyle was before, it’s not too late. Take one change at a time. Promise yourself to drink more water, eat more veggie, alight one bus stop away from your normal stop and walk the rest of the way, just do 10 push-ups a day, start a fitness journal. It can be anything.

And if ever you find the need to be motivated, just return to this blog post. If I can do it, then you can do it.

Until then, stay healthy!

Leave a Reply

